Trapped in School to Prison Pipeline

Standard

When I dropped off Easter baskets at Child Haven there was a playground to my right with laughing kids playing on the jungle gym, and then I looked to my left and saw a big, pink, windowless concrete building surrounded by a very tall chain link fence that had prison barbed wire atop. “What is that?,” I asked. The woman helping me with the baskets replied, “that’s Juvenile Detention.” I thought to myself how crazy it was that Child Haven was right next to Juvenile Detention, as if they were streamlining the process for the kids to go from one, to the other.

A lot of these kids spend their lives in one system or the other.  80% of prisoners in the United States have been in foster care at least once.

Read Foster Youth Trapped in School to Prison Pipeline

xoxo
LOVE always and forever,

TAG

 
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter
Website
YouTube
#ThatsWorthy
One thought on “Trapped in School to Prison Pipeline

Leave a Reply

